Wednesday, December 31, 2014

Book Review- My Heart and Other Black Holes

I finished reading My Heart and Other Black Holes by Jasmine Warga today for an Around the World ARC Tour.

From Goodreads:

A stunning novel about the transformative power of love, perfect for fans of Jay Asher and Laurie Halse Anderson.

Sixteen-year-old physics nerd Aysel is obsessed with plotting her own death. With a mother who can barely look at her without wincing, classmates who whisper behind her back, and a father whose violent crime rocked her small town, Aysel is ready to turn her potential energy into nothingness.

There's only one problem: she's not sure she has the courage to do it alone. But once she discovers a website with a section called Suicide Partners, Aysel's convinced she's found her solution—Roman, a teenage boy who's haunted by a family tragedy, is looking for a partner. Even though Aysel and Roman have nothing in common, they slowly start to fill in each other's broken lives. But as their suicide pact becomes more concrete, Aysel begins to question whether she really wants to go through with it. Ultimately, she must choose between wanting to die or trying to convince Roman to live so they can discover the potential of their energy together.

This was a pretty dark story with rays of light.  I don't think I've read a story that was so open and direct about suicide.  And I think there should be more.  I think this is an important story for teens to read so that they know that they're not alone in their feelings.

I liked getting to know Aysel.  I felt so bad for her and for Roman.  They were so different yet had so many of the same feelings.  I liked watching their relationship grow.

I really wasn't sure where the end was going to go.  I kind of guessed it right at the last minute but I wasn't sure.  And while it's heartbreaking, its real.  Such a tough subject but such a real one.

I gave this book a rating of 3.5/5.

My Heart and Other Black Holes will be released on February 10, 2015.

*FTC Disclosure: I was given this book for free for an honest review as part of the Around the World Tours.

No comments:

Post a Comment